The LDEA has a wide variety of committee members with a number of various interests in the education sector. A selection is listed below.

Nigel Jones

Nigel spent 42 years teaching in secondary schools and in FE colleges, including head of department and on committees involved with policy-making and worked part-time for the West Midlands Churches FE Council. He played a key role as elected staff governor at Stoke College, helping to turn around a disastrous situation.  He is governor of a primary school and has served as a local councillor and member of council cabinet.

Sal Jarvis
(Vice Chair)

Sal is Dean of the School of Education at the University of Hertfordshire. She has worked in the Early Years’, Primary and Further Education sectors and was a Special Needs Co-ordinator in a mainstream primary school for 11 years. Sal led the establishment of the Mathematics Specialist Teachers’ programme at the University. She currently on the governing bodies of a children’s centre and a primary school and is also a district councillor.

Helen Flynn

Helen Flynn has been a school and college governor for over 15 years and is currently Chair of Governors at Hookstone Chase Primary School in Harrogate.  She is an education policy specialist and has served on the Federal Policy Committee of the Liberal Democrats.  She coordinated the publication of the Social Liberal Forum booklet, “21st Century Education: A Social Liberal Approach” in 2014.  She is an elected member of the Social Liberal Forum, a Harrogate Borough Councillor and contested the Harrogate & Knaresborough parliamentary seat in 2015.

John Howson

Professor John Howson is a county councillor in Oxfordshire and speaks on education matters for the local Party. he has been a teacher, lecturer, government advisor and businessman in his long career in education. His career in education started in the early 1970s but his political career in the Liberal party started with the 1966 general election. In addition to his interest in education, John has interests in renewable energy and the criminal justice system.

Janet Grauberg

Janet is a Policy and Strategy Consultant specializing in children’s services, including early years policy and children’s social care. She is a former Lead Member for Children and Young People and recently worked for Barnardo’s as Director of Strategy. Previous roles include Policy Adviser in the Department for Education, supporting Sarah Teather MP when Minister for Children and Families. She also chairs a small community arts charity in Kilburn, north west London.

Mavarine du Marie

Educationalist: Adult Education
Specialist area: Inclusive Practice & Personal Development
In the field of: Preoccupation 
Mavarine Joined the LDEA to contribute towards the aims of the Liberal Democrats in education, with a focus on progression of the individual and on local communities.

Yasmin Choudhury

Yasmin is a social entrepreneur with a commitment to social justice and a passion for enabling people of all backgrounds to access opportunities in education and employment. In February 2016, she was awarded the Entrepreneur of the Year award at the British Muslim Awards.

Mathew Hulbert

From 2011 to 2015 Mathew was a Borough Councillor in Hinckley and Bosworth in Leicestershire and was the authority’s elected member Children and Young People’s Champion.  He’s a governor at a primary school in his village and is its Anti-Bullying Lead Governor. Mathew’s passion is to see out-of-school youth services, which have seen severe cuts to them in recent years, refunded and revitalised to ensure the needs of all young people and, especially, the least well-off and most vulnerable in our society are met.

Tom Barney

Edmund Dean

Edmund is an ESOL Tutor and former youth worker based in North London. They are also a former media professional and have worked for a number of 3rd sector media interest groups, including Stop Funding Hate.